How to hold a genuine tea ceremony at home

How to hold a genuine tea ceremony at home

06.02.2019

There is more to tea ceremony than just tea brewing; it requires special attention both to the drink and the process. In this article, we will tell you how to hold a tea ceremony at home keeping it easy. The first step of the process is to choose your tea. Which taste of this drink do you prefer?

Those who like it light and fresh should pay attention to white and green sorts of tea. If you like astringent, saturated and brutal tea taste, then go for a variety of dark sorts (black tea, dark oolong, shu pu-erh). In Russia, it is the black tea that has gained popularity, because tea of this type can warm you up in the cold season. We would like to draw particular attention to teas from  Africa. Today, Africa is the leading producer of tea, though the production there started just over a hundred years ago. Black tea accounts for the majority of African tea production, along with some green and white sorts. African tea has an expressive and vibrant taste, rich and beautiful infusion color.

Water

As tea primarily consists of water, its role is very important. Pure soft (but not too soft) water, which has no odor or taste, is considered the best. Tap water, well and filtered water may not be suitable, as it is often harder with higher mineral content. Anyway, the best approach is to try brewing your favorite tea with different kinds of water, in order to compare their taste and select your best fit.

Brewing temperature

Every tea group has its nuances and the temperature plays an important role. The characteristics indicated below are general, although they can vary for particular sorts.

  • White and green tea: 70 to 85 С
  • Light oolong: 80 to 90 С
  • Dark oolong: 90 to 95 С
  • Black tea: 90 to 100 С
  • Pu-erh (shu): 100 C

Quality of tea

One of the factors that influence the quality of tea is the elevation of its growing.  The higher is the location of a tea plantation, the higher is the value of its tea. This dependence is due to the fact that tea grows very slowly in the highlands, which allows its leaves to produce complex chemical substances that ensure the most vibrant and interesting flavor and taste of the future drink.

In Kenya, tea plantations are located at an altitude of up to 3,000 meters above sea level, hence the 'high' taste of Kenyan tea appreciated by many gourmets. In addition, no pesticides are used in the highlands of Kenya, which is why the tea is environmentally friendly.

Loose leaf tea brewing ceremony

In order to hold a tea ceremony at home, you don't need to possess the entire set of Chinese accessories. You can arrange the tea brewing process with the crockery you have. Take the smallest teapot you have (you need just the teapot and the lid, but no strainer). The best if its volume is under 500 ml. Put some tea into it, assuming 2 teaspoons per 200 ml. Now pour in some hot water and pour it out immediately. Once the tea leaves have warmed up, it is time to start our ceremony. Pour the water of the required temperature and leave it in for 10 to 20 seconds, then pour the tea out into another vessel (it is more practical to use a small jar / creamer or something similar) and use a fine strainer to avoid the tea leave pieces getting into the infusion. This is necessary for the tea to blend up and have a homogenous taste. Pour the ready tea into teacups (use small ones, 50 to 100 ml). Repeat the brewing process while the tea keeps its taste.  (*Before brewing tea, you need to warm up all the crockery). This is the way to brew any kind of tea.

If you want to get a stronger and richer cup of tea, add a slice of lemon or some milk to it, then just put a teaspoon of Kenyan black tea into a teapot, pour in 200 ml of boiling water and let it brew for 5 minutes. The vibrant and strong taste of African tea with a beautiful infusion color fits perfectly with any additives and turns ordinary tea drinking into a small celebration.

The secrets of the tea ceremony were shared with you by Natalia Prokhorenko. Teatester, developer with May company. Champion of Russia in Tea blending.

Image © Tastyexpert

Follow us on social media
This site uses cookies, by continuing to use the site you agree to our terms and conditions

Как провести настоящую чайную церемонию дома

Как провести настоящую чайную церемонию дома

06.02.2019

Чайная церемония – это не просто заваривание чая, требуется особое внимание к напитку и процессу. В этой статье расскажем, как максимально просто провести чайную церемонию у себя дома. Начать процесс стоит в первую очередь с выбора чая. Какой вкус вам нравится в этом напитке?

Ценителям легкости и свежести стоит обратить внимание на сорта белого и зеленого чая. Если в чае вас привлекает терпкость, насыщенность и брутальность, тогда выбираем среди многообразия темных сортов (черный чай, темные улуны, шу пуэры). В России особенно популярны варианты черного чая, ведь именно этот вид чая способен согреть в холодное время года. Особое внимание хочется уделить африканским сортам чая. На сегодняшний день Африка занимает лидирующие позиции по производству чая, хотя история его производства началась чуть более ста лет назад. Больше всего в Африке производится черного чая, при этом изготавливается также зеленый и белый чай. Африканский чай обладает выразительным ярким вкусом, насыщенностью и красивым цветом настоя.

Вода

Так как чай в первую очередь состоит из воды, то ее роль очень существенна. Наилучшей считается чистая мягкая (но не чрезмерно) вода без запаха и вкуса. Водопроводная, родниковая и фильтрованная вода не всегда может соответствовать необходимым требованиям, поскольку часто это более жесткая вода с повышенной минерализацией. В любом случае лучше всего попробовать заварить любимый чай разной водой, чтобы сравнить вкус и выбрать наиболее подходящий для себя.

Температура заваривания

Каждая группа чая имеет свои нюансы, и температура играет существенную роль. Сейчас рассмотрим общие характеристики, при этом в зависимости от конкретного сорта эти параметры могут немного изменяться.

  • Белый и зеленый чай –  70-85С
  • Светлый улун – 80-90С
  • Темный улун – 90-95С
  • Черный чай – 90-100С
  • Пуэр (шу) – 100С

Качество чая

Одним из показателей, влияющих на качество чая является высота произрастания.  Чем выше расположены чайные плантации, тем более ценным считается произведенный чай. Такая взаимосвязь обусловлена тем, что в высокогорье чай растет очень медленно и в листьях образуются сложные химические вещества, которые и придают будущему напитку более яркий и интересный аромат и вкус.

В Кении чайные плантации расположены на высоте до 3000 метров над уровнем моря, поэтому и вкус кенийского чая высокий и приходится по вкусу многим гурманам. А еще в высокогорьях Кении не используются пестицы, благодаря этому чай считается экологически чистым.

Церемония заваривания листового чая

Чтобы провести чайную церемонию дома необязательно иметь весь набор китайских инструментов. Процесс заваривания чая можно организовать из подручной посуды. Возьмите самый маленький чайник, который есть у вас дома (нужен сам чайник и крышка, без сита). Лучше если его объем будет не больше 500 мл. Насыпьте в него чай из расчета 2 чайные ложки на 200мл. Теперь наливаем немного горячей воды и сразу ее сливаем. После того, как чайные листья согрелись начинаем церемонию. Наливаем воду необходимой температуры и оставляем на 10-20 секунд, после чего сливаем чай в другую емкость (удобнее использовать небольшой кувшин/сливочник или что-то подобное) и используем мелкое сито, чтобы чаинки не попали в настой. Это необходимо, чтобы чай перемешался и был одинаковый вкус. Разливаем готовый чай по чашкам (используйте небольшие 50-100 мл). Повторяем процесс заваривания до тех пор, пока чай имеет вкус.  (*Перед завариванием чая необходимо прогреть всю чайную посуду). Таким способом можно заварить любой чай.

Если хочется получить более крепкую и насыщенную чашку чая, добавить к ней дольку лимона или немного молока, тогда просто засыпьте чайную ложку кенийского черного в чайник, залейте 200 мл кипятка и оставьте на 5 минут. Яркий и крепкий вкус африканского чая с красивым цветом настоя отлично сочетается со всеми добавками и превращает обычное чаепитие в маленький праздник.

Секретами чайной церемонии для вас поделилась Наталья Прохоренко. Титестер, разработчик компании Май. Чемпионка России в категории «Чайная миксология».

Изображение © Tastyexpert

Следите за нами в соц. сетях
Этот сайт использует cookies, продолжая использовать сайт вы соглашаетесь с нашими условиями