Why Kenyan marathoners are the fastest worldwide

Why Kenyan marathoners are the fastest worldwide

27.03.2019

The great number of sporting wins of Kenyan athletes has been inspiring the runners’ community for many years. How do they manage to handle long distances so easily?

The history of running starts in the ancient Greece, where, as one of legends has it, a warrior named Pheidippides ran from Marathon to Athens to deliver news of the military victory of the Greeks over the Persians. As an element of the sports discipline, the length of the marathon distance constantly changed, until in 1921 the International Amateur Athletics Federation established an official length of 42 kilometers 195 meters. Representatives of various countries have won in this sport, but over the past sixty years, runners from Kenya have become absolute champions.

From 1958 to 1960, the world champion in the marathon race was Sergey Popov, and before that, the 25 best athletes included only one runner from Africa. Today things have changed. London, Berlin, New York, and Tokyo are just a few venues of the international marathon race won by athletes from Kenya last year. Six of the last ten world records belong to the natives of Kenya, including the latest one set by Eliud Kipchoge at the Berlin Marathon race in September 2018. He covered the distance in 2 hours 1 minute and 39 seconds.

The success of Kenyan athletes in long-distance running are related to many factors. These include physical predisposition, living conditions, training approach and nutrition.

Body specific

Most of all Kenyan marathon race winners are natives of the Kalenji tribe, which makes up 12% of the country's population. In ancient times, the ancestors of these people lived in the hot lowlands and then migrated to the highlands. Their constitution changed, and their body acquired unique features. Kalenjin people typically have long thin limbs and short stature. Another specific feature is that their bodies consume oxygen in a more efficient way. This change occurred as a result of living in the highlands, at an altitude over 2,000 meters above sea level, where the air is thinner.

Approach to training

Western athletes often focus on technical innovations – heart rate monitors, smartphone apps – and this heavily distracts them from the main thing. Kenyans believe that you just need to listen to your body and run. It is your own body that can tell you about the changes occurring in it, and the difficulties that arise after long workouts, better than any doctor will. In addition, in Kenya, they practice group training sessions attended by both award-winning athletes and beginners. This allows young sportsmen to learn from international champions, and marathon veterans to keep up with the pace of the young talents.

Nutrition

Athletes eat very simply. The Great Rift Valley provides them with rice, corn, beans and green vegetables. This food is rich in fiber, carbohydrates and contains little fat. Their principal dish is Ugali, a corn porridge. It is quickly digested by the body and is highly nutritive - this dish will provide you with enough energy even if you do your morning workout before breakfast. Kenyans use no sports supplements or energy drinks. The only drink they consume in large quantities is tea, which grows right here, preparing it with milk. The tea stimulates, invigorates, cleanses the body, and also boosts perspiration thus reducing the body temperature. According to Kenyan runners, if you drink a cup of Kenyan masala tea after a workout, it will relax your muscles and reduce the pain the next day after the training.

Follow us on social media
This site uses cookies, by continuing to use the site you agree to our terms and conditions

Почему кенийские бегуны самые быстрые в мире

Почему кенийские бегуны самые быстрые в мире

27.03.2019

Огромное количество спортивных побед кенийских бегунов много лет вдохновляет беговое сообщество. Как им удается так легко справляться с большими дистанциями?

История бега начинается в Древней Греции, где, по одной из легенд, воин Фидиппид пробежал от Марафона до Афин с вестью о победе греков над персами. Как часть спортивной дисциплины длина марафонской дистанции постоянно изменялась, пока в 1921 году Международная любительская легкоатлетическая федерация не установила официальную протяженность в 42 километра 195 метров. Побеждали в этом виде спорта представители разных стран, но за последние шестьдесят лет абсолютными чемпионами становятся бегуны из Кении.

С 1958-й по 1960-й мировой рекорд в марафоне принадлежал Сергею Попову, а ранее среди 25 спортсменов с лучшими результатами был только один бегун из Африки. Но сегодня все по-другому. Лондонский, Берлинский, Нью-Йоркский, Токийский – вот только несколько международных марафонов, где спортсмены из Кении победили в прошлом году. Шесть из десяти последних мировых рекордов принадлежат жителям Кении, включая последний, поставленный Элиудом Кипчоге на Берлинском марафоне в сентябре 2018 года. Он преодолел дистанцию за 2 часа 1 минуту и 39 секунд.

Успехи кенийских спортсменов в беге на длинные дистанции связаны со многими факторами. В этот список входят: физическая предрасположенность, условия жизни, подход к тренировкам и питание.

Физические особенности

Больше всего титулованных марафонцев из Кении принадлежат к племени Календжи, которое составляет 12% населения всей страны. В давние времена предки этого народа жили в жарких низинах и потом перекочевали в горную местность. Их организм перестраивался, а строение тела приобрело уникальные черты. Календжийцев отличают длинные тонкие конечности и невысокий рост. Другая особенность – более эффективный расход кислорода организмом. Такое изменение произошло в результате жизни в горной местности, на высоте выше двух тысяч метров над уровнем моря, где воздух более разрежен.

Подход к тренировкам

Западные спортсмены часто ориентируются на технические новинки – пульсометры, приложения в телефонах – и это сильно отвлекает от главного. Кенийцы считают, что надо просто прислушиваться к своему телу и бежать. Организм лучше любого врача может сообщить человеку об изменениях, которые происходят в теле, и трудностях, возникающих после длительных тренировок. К тому же в Кении практикуют групповые занятия, участие в которых принимают титулованные спортсмены и начинающие. Это позволяет молодым спортсменам учиться у международных рекордсменов, ну а ветеранам марафонов – не отставать от юных талантов.

Питание

Питаются спортсмены очень просто. Великая рифтовая долина дает им рис, кукурузу, фасоль и зеленые овощи. Такая пища наполнена клетчаткой, углеводами и содержит мало жира. Главное блюдо – угали, каша из кукурузы. Она быстро усваивается организмом и имеет высокую энергетическую ценность – такое блюдо даст энергию даже на утреннюю тренировку перед завтраком. Кенийцы не используют спортивные добавки и энергетические напитки. Единственное, что они пьют в больших количествах, – выращенный здесь же чай, приготовленный с молоком. Он стимулирует, придает бодрость, очищает организм, а также хорошо способствует потоотделению и таким образом снижает температуру тела. По словам кенийских бегунов, чашка кенийского чая масала, выпитая после тренировки, расслабляет мышцы и снижает болезненные ощущения на следующий день после спортивных нагрузок.

Следите за нами в соц. сетях
Этот сайт использует cookies, продолжая использовать сайт вы соглашаетесь с нашими условиями