Where does the most delicious tea grow?

Where does the most delicious tea grow?

21.09.2021

The tea industry is an important agricultural industry in Kenya. Today, this country is recognized as one of the largest exporters of tea in the world (in 2018, 80% of the produced raw materials were exported). In addition, Kenyan tea is considered an environmentally friendly and safe product.

A little history

Growing tea has not always been Kenya's hallmark. Until the twentieth century, there was not a single tea bush in the country. In 1903, British colonizers planted the first Assamese tea plantation near the city of Lemuru. The plant took root and gave a good harvest, so the local population continued to develop tea business - so plantations appeared in the highlands of Nandi and Kericho.

During World War II, the British sought to expand production, but the national uprising that broke out prevented the plans of the British. In 1964, Kenya gained independence, and in the same year the Agency for the Development of the Tea Industry was created. The organization coordinates all processes related to the tea industry (tea cultivation, production and export).

Where tea is grown

In 1903, the first tea plantation was created in Kenya. In 1964, about 20 thousand small farms engaged in tea cultivation were created. Today, more than 270 thousand landowners are registered in the country who contain tea plantations.

Kenyan tea grows on plateaus at an altitude of 1,500 to 2,700 meters above sea level in "tea" regions. The largest of them are: Nandi, Kericho, Meru, Nyamira, Nyeri, Muranga. The Kericho area is the heart of plantations. Most farms and factories are concentrated there. The Kenyan Tea Research Institute is also located there.

Most plantations are located on the territory of the Great Rift Valley. Mountainous terrain and warm rains are the key to juicy and resilient tea leaves. The harvest is carried out all year round: farmers manually harvest young leaves and send them for processing every week.

Mineral-rich volcanic soil, tropical climate, high humidity are ideal conditions for growing tea. But not every variety takes root in any of the regions. Farmers therefore seek advice from the Tea Research Institute.

Tea Institute

The Tea Research Institute was established to develop innovative methods for growing tea. Employees of the Institute analyze soils, study the climatic features of the regions, develop recommendations for growing tea bushes, select and test new varieties. Thanks to the work of the Institute, there are 59 varieties of tea ready for distribution. The most unusual variety - purple - was bred relatively recently, about 10 years ago. In general, it takes 3 years to develop, test and prepare for the distribution of a new variety of tea bush.

Kenyan tea is not just a drink, it is a whole art (from cultivation and production to export). Before getting to our table, the tea leaf goes through many stages. Thanks to the painstaking work of farmers, factories and dozens of organizations, we have the opportunity to enjoy a tasty, aromatic drink every day.

Follow us on social media
This site uses cookies, by continuing to use the site you agree to our terms and conditions

Где растёт самый вкусный чай?

Где растёт самый вкусный чай?

21.09.2021

Чайная индустрия — важная отрасль сельского хозяйства Кении. Сегодня эта страна признана одним из крупнейших экспортеров чая в мире (в 2018 году на экспорт было отправлено 80% произведенного сырья). Кроме того, кенийский чай считается экологически чистым и безопасным продуктом.

Немного истории 

Выращивание чая не всегда было визитной карточкой Кении. До ХХ века в стране не было ни одного чайного куста. В 1903 году британские колонизаторы высадили первую плантацию ассамского чая возле города Лемуру. Растение прижилось и дало хороший урожай, поэтому местное население продолжило развивать чайное дело —  так появились плантации в высокогорных регионах Нанди и Керичо. 

Во время Второй мировой войны британцы стремились расширить производство, но вспыхнувшее национальное восстание помешало планам англичан. В 1964 году Кения обрела независимость, и в этом же году было создано Агентство по развитию чайной индустрии. Эта организация занимается координацией всех процессов, связанных с чайной индустрией (выращивание, производство и экспорта чая). 

Где выращивают чай 

В 1903 году была создана первая плантация чая в Кении. В 1964 году было создано около 20 тысяч небольших фермерских хозяйств, занимающихся выращиваниям чая. Сегодня в стране зарегистрировано более 270 тысяч землевладельцев, которые содержат чайные плантации. 

Кенийский чай растет на плоскогорьях на высоте от 1500 до 2700 метров над уровнем моря в “чайных” регионах. Самые крупные из них: Нанди, Керичо, Меру, Ньямира, Ньери, Муранга. Район Керичо — сердце плантаций. Там сосредоточено больше всего фермерских хозяйств и фабрик. Там же расположен и кенийский Институт Исследования чая. 

Большинство плантаций расположено на территории Великой рифтовой долины. Гористая местность и тёплые дожди — залог сочных и упругих чайных листьев. Сбор урожая проводится круглый год: фермеры еженедельно вручную собирают молодые листья и отправляют их на переработку.  

Богатая минералами вулканическая почва, тропический климат, повышенная влажность — это идеальные условия для выращивания чая. Но не каждый сорт приживается в любом из регионов. Поэтому фермеры обращаются за рекомендациями в Институт исследования чая. 

Институт чая 

Институт исследования чая был создан для того, чтобы разрабатывать инновационные методы выращивания чая. Сотрудники Института анализируют почвы, изучают климатические особенности регионов, разрабатывают рекомендации по выращиванию чайных кустов, селекционируют и тестируют новые сорта. Благодаря работе Института, существует 59 сортов чая, готовых к распространению. Самый необычный сорт — фиолетовый — был выведен относительно недавно, около 10 лет назад. В целом, на разработку, тестирование и приготовление к распространению нового сорта чайного куста уходит 3 года. 

Кенийский чай — это не просто напиток, это целое искусство (начиная от выращивания и производства до экспорта). Прежде, чем попасть к нам на стол, чайный листик проходит много этапов. Благодаря кропотливой работе фермеров, фабрик и десятков организаций, мы имеем возможность наслаждаться вкусным, ароматным напитком каждый день. 


 

 

Следите за нами в соц. сетях
Этот сайт использует cookies, продолжая использовать сайт вы соглашаетесь с нашими условиями