Winter training

Winter training

28.12.2021

One of the biggest success secrets for Kenyan runners is regular outdoor training. All year round, runners cover thousands of kilometers on medium mountains and unpaved roads. Regardless of the season and weather, athletes are always in the ranks.

Unique climate

The equator line passes through Kenya, and the country itself is located in the eastern part of Africa. The Indian Ocean washes the southeastern part of the country, and Lake Victoria is located in the west. On the territory of Kenya, the relief is uneven: there are hills and mountains, sloping plateaus, plains and plateaus. Therefore, in different regions of Kenya, the amplitude of the average daily temperature fluctuates. Depending on the area, in winter the air warms up from 14 to 26 degrees.

Kenya also has several rainy seasons: from April to May, and from late October to December. The autumn-winter period is considered short - it rains no more than 20-30 minutes a day. Before the Christmas and New Year holidays, rainfall decreases and the dry season begins. But track and field athletes don't care about rainy weather, so they don't miss training.

Sports bases

All training camps are located high above sea level (at least 1,800 meters). The high-altitude location of the training bases has an indisputable plus: during jogging in mountainous areas, the blood is more oxygenated, the anaerobic threshold rises and endurance increases.

The most famous training camp is located in the small town of Itene. The city is located at an altitude of 2,400 meters above sea level. Itena has miles of dirt roads in hilly terrain - ideal for training future and current champions.

Not far from the capital of Kenya, there is a training camp in Ngong, which is popular with foreign athletes. Denmark's youth team, for example, comes here to train for the winter camp.

In the vicinity of the city of Kericho, there are not only the most beautiful and fruitful tea plantations. Here is one of the best sports facilities in Kenya, where athletes, mostly local, train in clay and grass stadiums. In total, there are more than 10 large training camps in Kenya and many small sports camps.

The diet

Kenyan athletes do not follow a strict diet, their diet is quite balanced and nutritious. A standard food capsule consists of: ugali (corn porridge), meat, milk, legumes, vegetables, herbs and fruits. Kenyans also love chapatis - simple wheat cakes. The dough is made from flour and water, a small pinch of salt is added and kneaded. Then the cake is baked or fried in oil. Of the drinks, athletes prefer local tea with sugar, milk is added. This drink helps them maintain energy throughout the race and help them recover from exercise.

Being an athlete is a huge job. If you want to conquer a long distance or learn to run for yourself, you can follow the example of the Kenyan champions. They are very persistent, hardworking and always go to their goal.

Follow us on social media
This site uses cookies, by continuing to use the site you agree to our terms and conditions

Зимние тренировки

Зимние тренировки

28.12.2021

Один из главных секретов успеха кенийских бегунов — регулярные тренировки на открытом воздухе. Круглый год бегуны преодолевают тысячи километров по среднегорью и грунтовым дорогам. Вне зависимости от сезона и погоды легкоатлеты всегда в строю.

Уникальный климат 

Через Кению проходит линия экватора, а сама страна располагается в восточной части Африки. Индийский океан омывает юго-восточную часть страны, а на западе расположено озеро Виктория. На территории Кении неравномерный рельеф: есть холмы и горы, наклонные плато, равнины и плоскогорья. Поэтому в разных регионах Кении амплитуда среднесуточной температуры колеблется. В зависимости от района, зимой воздух прогревается от 14 до 26 градусов. 

Также в Кении есть несколько сезонов дождей: с апреля по май, и с конца октября по декабрь. Осенне-зимний период считается коротким — дождь идет не больше 20-30 минут в день. Перед рождественскими и новогодними праздниками количество осадков сокращается, и начинается сухой сезон. Но легкоатлетам ни по чем дождливая погода, поэтому они не пропускают тренировки. 

Спортивные базы 

Все тренировочные лагеря располагаются высоко над уровнем моря (не ниже 1 800 метров). Высотное расположение тренировочных баз имеет неоспоримый плюс: во время пробежек в гористых местностях кровь быстрее насыщается кислородом, повышается анаэробный порог и усиливается выносливость.

Самый знаменитый тренировочный лагерь находится в небольшом городке Итене. Город расположился на высоте 2 400 метров над уровнем моря. В Итене есть многокилометровые грунтовые дороги на холмистой местности — идеальный вариант для тренировок будущих и настоящих чемпионов. 

Недалеко от столицы Кении существует тренировочный лагерь в Нгонге, который популярен среди иностранных спортсменов. Молодежная сборная Дании, например, приезжает сюда тренироваться на зимние сборы. 

В округе города Керичо расположены не только самые красивые и урожайные плантации чая. Здесь находится одна из лучших спортивных баз в Кении, где легкоатлеты, в основном местные, тренируются на грунтовом и травянистом стадионах. Всего в Кении существует более 10 крупных тренировочных лагерей и множество небольших спортивных кэмпингов. 

Рацион 

Кенийские спортсмены не соблюдают строгую диету, их рацион достаточно сбалансирован и питателен. Стандартная продуктовая капсула состоит из: угали (кукурузная каша), мяса, молока, бобовых, овощей, зелени и фруктов. Также кенийцы любят чапати — простые пшеничные лепешки. Тесто готовят из муки и воды, добавляют небольшую щепотку соли и вымешивают. Затем лепешку выпекают или жарят на масле. Из напитков атлеты предпочитают местный чай с сахаром, добавляют молоко. Этот напиток помогает им сохранять энергию на протяжении всего забега и восстановиться после физических нагрузок. 

Быть легкоатлетом — огромный труд. Если вы хотите покорить длинную дистанцию или научиться бегать для себя, вы можете брать пример с кенийских чемпионов. Они очень упорны, трудолюбивы и всегда идут к своей цели. 

Следите за нами в соц. сетях
Этот сайт использует cookies, продолжая использовать сайт вы соглашаетесь с нашими условиями