From bush to cup

From bush to cup

10.01.2022

Where does tea come from? Probably, each of us asked this question at least once in his life. Before getting to the table, the leaves of the Chinese camellia travel a long way, thousands of kilometers and several continents.

Under the hot sun

It all starts with a plantation. Tea bushes are planted in the highlands of Kenya - where there are fertile volcanic soils, there is a source of water nearby and a lot of light. The country has a subequatorial climate, so the plantations are harvested every 7 days (in the off-season - once every 14 days). In other countries such as India and China, harvesting takes place up to 4 times a year.

The largest plantations are located in the regions of Kericho, Meru, Nandi, Nyamira, Nieri and Muranga. Most of the population of these regions work here - tea is collected exclusively by hand. 3-4 upper leaves and unopened buds, which are called tips, are carefully plucked from the bushes. Then the raw materials are immediately sent to the factory - usually the production workshops are located near the plantations.

Factory business

In the factory, most of the processes are automated, so tea processing is very fast. Fresh raw materials are first of all cleaned of debris - they are sorted by hand and placed on production belts. Through them, the leaves are sent to special containers, where the tea goes through the first stage of processing. The withering process looks like this: the tea is blown with hot air and the leaves lose up to 55% moisture.

After that, the raw materials must go through a grinding stage - first, the tea is chopped with a large knife, and then ground into a fine gruel. If a factory is engaged in the production of loose leaf tea, this step is skipped. Further, the crushed (future granulated tea) and whole leaves are sent to the rolling machine. There, the raw material is ground between two discs, releases essential oils and curls.

The processing process is now in its final stage - the tea is sent back to the production belts, where it is fermented for several hours. Fermentation is responsible for how the drink tastes. Due to contact with air, the raw material is oxidized, therefore, by the end of fermentation, the tea changes color from green to brown. Green varieties do not undergo oxidation, so they retain their color. The final stage of tea production is drying - all raw materials are sent to drying machines, where the final aroma is formed under hot air. Drying also helps remove excess moisture from the leaves.

On the table

When the raw material is ready, it is packaged and sent to a tea auction in Mombasa. It is a large commercial city and the main port of the country. All raw materials that are sent for export pass through Mombasa. At the auction, clients are large tea producers who bargain with factories and make purchases. The whole process lasts no more than 2 days, and the auction itself is held once a week. Some varieties of tea (yellow, green, purple) do not participate in the auction, and after production are sent directly to the customer. Then the raw materials are sent to the tea-packing factory, where the drink is packed in branded boxes and prepared for distribution. Then the goods are sold in cafes and restaurants, delivered to supermarkets and retail stores.

People in Russia love to drink tea (about 95% of the population prefer this drink), so the goods do not linger on the shelves. Most Russians like granular Kenyan black tea (sold in individual sachets - disposable tea bags). Also, recently, the population has a growing demand for fruit teas, leafy drinks and blends. To meet these demands, the Kenyan Ministry of Agriculture plans to double the supply of tea to Russia in the future

Follow us on social media
This site uses cookies, by continuing to use the site you agree to our terms and conditions

От куста до чашки

От куста до чашки

10.01.2022

Откуда берется чай? Наверное, этим вопросом хотя бы раз в жизни задавался каждый из нас. Прежде, чем попасть на стол, листья китайской камелии проделывают огромный путь в тысячи километров и несколько континентов. 

Под жарким солнцем 

Всё начинается с плантации. Чайные кусты высаживают в высокогорных регионах Кении — там, где есть плодородные вулканические почвы, рядом есть источник воды и много света. В стране субэкваториальный климат, поэтому урожай на плантации собирают каждые 7 дней (в несезон — раз в 14 дней). В других странах, таких как Индия и Китай, сбор урожая проводится до 4 раз в год. 

Самые крупные плантации расположены в регионах Керичо, Меру, Нанди, Ньямира, Ньери и Муранга. Здесь трудится большая часть населения этих районов — чай собирается исключительно вручную. С кустов бережно срывают 3-4 верхних листика и нераскрывшиеся почки, которые называют типсами. Затем сырье сразу отправляют на фабрику — обычно производственные цеха располагаются недалеко от плантаций. 

Фабричное дело 

На фабрике большинство процессов автоматизировано, поэтому обработка чая происходит очень быстро. Свежее сырье в первую очередь очищают от мусора — перебирают вручную и помещают на производственные ленты. По ним листья отправляются в специальные контейнеры, где чай проходит первую стадию обработки. Процесс завяливания выглядит так: чай обдувается горячим воздухом и листья теряют до 55% влаги. 

После этого сырье должно пройти этап перемалывания — сначала чай рубится большим ножом, а затем перемалывается в мелкую кашицу. Если фабрика занимается производством листового чая, этот этап пропускается. Далее измельченные (будущий гранулированный чай) и цельные листья отправляются в скручивальную машину. Там сырье перетирается между двумя дисками, выделяет эфирные масла и скручивается. 

Процесс переработки теперь находится на финальной стадии — чай снова отправляется на производственные ленты, где в течение нескольких часов ферментируется. Ферментация отвечает за то, каким будет на вкус напиток. Из-за контакта с воздухом сырье окисляется, поэтому к концу ферментации чай меняет цвет с зеленого на коричневый. Зеленые сорта не подвергают окислению, поэтому они сохраняют свой цвет. Завершающим этапом производства чая является сушка — все сырье отправляется в сушильные машины, где под горячим воздухом формируется окончательный аромат. Также просушка помогает убрать лишнюю влагу из листьев. 

На столе

Когда сырье готово, его фасуют и отправляют на чайный аукцион в Момбасу. Это большой торговый город, который является главным портом страны. Через Момбасу проходит все сырье, которое отправляется на экспорт. На аукционе клиенты-крупные чайные производители, торгуются с фабриками и делают закупки. Весь процесс длится не более 2 дней, а сам аукцион проводится раз в неделю. Некоторые сорта чая (желтый, зеленый, фиолетовый) не участвуют в торгах, а после производства отправляются сразу к заказчику. Затем сырье отправляется на чаеразвесочную фабрику, где напиток фасуют в фирменные коробки и готовят к дистрибуции. Далее товар реализуют по кафе и ресторанам, поставляют в супермаркеты и розничные магазины. 

В России очень любят пить чай (около 95% населения предпочитают этот напиток), поэтому на полках товар не залеживается. Больше всего россиянам нравится кенийский черный чай в гранулах (продается в индивидуальных саше — одноразовых пакетиках для заварки). Также в последнее время у населения растет спрос на фруктовые чаи, листовые напитки и купажи. Чтобы удовлетворить эти запросы, Министерство сельского хозяйство Кении планирует в будущем удвоить поставки чая в Россию. 

Следите за нами в соц. сетях
Этот сайт использует cookies, продолжая использовать сайт вы соглашаетесь с нашими условиями